Evaluation session to be carried out in WB schools to assess academic progress of students in last 2 yrs

Kolkata, June 28 (PTI) With schools having reopened campuses after an extended summer vacation, the West Bengal Board of Primary Education has issued a set of guidelines, asking state-run and –aided institutes to carry out an evaluation session to assess the academic progress of students in the past two years of online learning, amid the COVID-19 pandemic.. The evaluation will be carried out in phases, an official of the board said. Ananda Handa, a functionary of West Bengal Primary Teachers Association, pointed out that school campuses were out of bounds for students due to the pandemic, with many children having missed out on lessons due to network issues or the economic condition at homes, especially in the rural areas. Handa said students are turning up in large numbers after the classes reopened on June 27, and the evaluation exercise will help teachers get a better understanding of the headway made by the students .R C Bagchi, the board secretary, said in a notice, said, “…to evaluate the students' performances there will be summative evaluation...which shall be preceded by formative evaluation.\".He also said that prescribed syllabus will have to be followed for each subject. In accordance with the notice, the first offline summative evaluation will have to be conducted by schools between July 2 and 12, the second in September and the third in December. Each summative assessment will be preceded by a formative session. Summative assessments are used to evaluate a student’s learning, skill and academic progress at the end of a certain period, while formative session takes into account the methods used by teachers to impart lessons. The phase-wise assessments will be carried out in addition to the mid-term and final exams.According to the board official, the methodology for summative and formative evaluation of students, would be decided by respective schools. PTI SUS RMS ..

Shipping firm to create awareness among J'Khand, Bihar students to opt for maritime career

Ranchi, Jun 28 (PTI) A Geneva-based leading shipping firm on Tuesday said it will launch an initiative to create awareness among Jharkhand and Bihar school students to woo them to opt for attractive maritime jobs by linking them to senior crew members. India with 12 per cent of the world’s population has just about 7 per cent of the seafarers market. On the other hand, countries like Philippines with just 2 per cent of the world’s population has grabbed 20 per cent global share. \"An 'Adopt a Ship Programme' has been initiated as a Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) by a Geneva-headquartered shipping company that employs a substantial number of Indian seafarers, Mediterranean Shipping Company (MSC),\" MSC said in a statement. MSC's Cyprus-based arm MSC Shipmanagement Limited will spearhead this CSR initiative and aim to connect with schools in India, including many primary schools of Jharkhand and Bihar in the current year, it said. Through 'Adopt a Ship Programme', primary school students will be linked with MSC Cargo and Cruise vessels' senior crew members. A substantial number of merchant navy officers who are native of Jharkhand and Bihar states currently work as skilled seafarers aboard specialized cargo and cruise ships owned and operated by MSC. Nita Jha, Head of Group Learning & Organizational Development, Sustainability & Support Services, MSC Shipmanagement said, \"The aim of our 'Adopt a Ship Programme' CSR initiative is to highlight the positive side and benefits of the shipping industry and its huge contribution to the global economy. This maritime awareness programme will influence thousands of Indian students to opt for the merchant navy as a lucrative career option.\". Jha added that a leading maritime nation like India having a long coastline of around 7,500 km has more than 50 per cent of its population below the age of 25 and more than 65 per cent below the age of 35. MSC's connect with Indian students through 'Adopt a Ship Programme' will act as a major boost for the Indian ship manning industry in the years to come as Indian seafarers have acquired a prestigious position as a major global workforce over many decades, she said. MSC Shipmanagement Limited employs over 14,000 people, which includes shore staff in Cyprus, India, Ukraine and Philippines as well as the skilled crew on board MSC's managed cargo and cruises vessels. PTI NAM RG ..

Bihar govt urges Centre to include 17,728 more people in Awas Plus App

Patna, Jun 27 (PTI) The Bihar government has written a letter to the Centre for the inclusion of details of additional 17,728 eligible beneficiaries in the ‘Awas Plus App’ under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G). In the letter, the state government has requested the Rural Development Ministry to provide the link to the ‘Awas Plus App’ so that it can upload details of the eligible beneficiaries whose names are missing from the final list. \"The state government had provided details of additional 17,728 eligible beneficiaries to the Centre for including their names in the final list of beneficiaries. But, despite our repeated requests, their details could not be uploaded on the App,\" Bihar Rural Development Minister, Shrawan Kumar, told PTI. Since their details are not available on the app, they can not avail the financial support and facilities provided under the PMAY-G scheme, Kumar said. \"We have written to the central government seeking access to the link for uploading details of these additional beneficiaries,\" he added. The PMAY-G is an initiative by the Government of India to provide affordable housing to the rural poor. Originally launched in 1985 as “Indira Awaas Yojana”, the PMAY-G scheme was revamped and relaunched in 2016 by the Central government as part of its “Housing for All by 2022” initiative. The PMAY-G mission has now been extended up to 2024. The initiative seeks to provide pucca houses, with all the basic amenities, including water, sanitation and electricity, to all the eligible rural households, in two phases. The cost of one unit is shared by the central and state governments in the ratio of 60:40 . While the assistance for each unit in the plains is Rs 1.20 lakh, it is Rs 1.30 lakh per unit for houses in hilly and difficult areas and districts under the Integrated Action Plan (IAP). The payments, in three instalments, are electronically transferred directly to bank accounts or post office accounts of the beneficiaries. All beneficiaries under the scheme also get an additional Rs 90.95 per day, under the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA). Around 26.96 lakh houses had been sanctioned, from 2016 to 2021, for construction under the PMAY-G scheme in Bihar, and around 24.54 lakh units (that is 90 per cent of the target) have already been completed or delivered to beneficiaries. The districts where the completion of work is more than 75 per cent, include Supaul (77 per cent), Saran (78.65 per cent), Madhepura (81.65 per cent), Katihar (82.64 per cent), Munger (83.14 per cent), Begusarai (83.64 per cent) and Lakhisarai (82.24 per cent). PTI PKD SBN MM ..